Women of Vision Gala honors CSU biomedical sciences and engineering students

Award winners and School of Biomedical Engineering staff at the Women of Vision Gala
Award winners and School of Biomedical Engineering staff at the Women of Vision Gala, left to right: Kelly Swetich, Jordan Nelson, Brett Eppich Beal, and Mallory Knudsen.

At the Women of Vision Gala in July, Colorado State University students Jordan Nelson and Mallory Knudsen were named recipients of the Joan C. King Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded to exceptional students with an interest in biomedical science or biomedical engineering. The endowment was created in honor of Joan C. King, an internationally renowned scientist and life coach whose goal was to touch the essence of people and help them realize – through science or spirit – how their own amazing gifts can make a difference in the world.

“Joan was very committed to raising the consciousness and confidence of women in the sciences,” said Brett Eppich Beal, a student advisor for the School of Biomedical Engineering. “The scholarship winners address these elements as they apply to their own plans and career goals.”

Nelson, a senior working toward a bachelor’s degree in biomedical sciences, plans to attend medical school. She hopes to use her education to tend to the needs of individuals at home and around the world.

Knudsen is a transfer student in the biomedical engineering and chemical and biological engineering program, with a strong interest in emerging biomedical engineering technology. As a first-generation student, she is passionate about improving her life and the lives in the community around her.

Women of Vision

The awards were presented at the Women of Vision Gala by Beal; Stuart Tobet, graduate director of the School of Biomedical Engineering; Ann Clarke, founder and lead organizer of the Colorado Women of Influence Foundation; and biomedical sciences student advisor Kelly Swetich. The Colorado Women of Influence Foundation, whose mission is to identify and honor women from Northern Colorado who have made a difference in their communities, sponsored the event.

“Joan was a founding member of the Colorado Women of Influence,” said Tobet. “The School of Biomedical Engineering thought this ceremony was ideal for announcing and honoring awardees, and Ann Clarke graciously agreed with the idea.”

Other members of the Colorado State University community honored by the Colorado Women of Influence as Women of Vision include Ann Gill, former dean of the College of Liberal Arts, and Sonia Kreidenweis, University Distinguished Professor and Associate Dean for Research for the Walter Scott, Jr. College of Engineering.